NFL Week 3 – Best Bets

Gargy– Shirt you are on fire with your punting at the moment, should I even bother outlining who I like this week? Silly question, of course I am going to have a say. But I will point out that it is a funny type of week as there aren’t a lot of games that I like. There are lots of division games and I generally don’t like putting my hard earned on them, but this week my bet of the week is using the pick your line option and taking the bills +6.5 at $1.45. I am putting $70 on this bet. I think the Bills are a chance of winning and I am just being a pussy by taking the start (again).  But the reasoning- Two rookie QB’s, however Manuel offer more and I feel the Bills have more weapons in offence including CJ Spiller and Johnson and I think their defensive line will make an uncomfortable night for Smith. Its certainly not the best match up, but who gives a shit? We want to make money.  For mine, the pick of the matches is the Packers @ Bengals and the Colts with new RB Trent Richardson at the 49’ers. Without further ado, here is the man of the moment – Shirt…  What do you like for week 3 mate?

Shirt – Thanks Gargs.  I’m tempted to hang up the boots right now before I come crashing back to earth.   Agree it’s a bit of a strange week this one, with not too many games screaming “classic”.  There are three teams that I will be watching with interest though – all at home,  all vying to cement their place as leaders of their division and stamp themselves as genuine contenders .  The Bengals face their toughest test of the season against the Packers, Dallas host the dangerous St Louis and Tanehill’s Dolphins have a great chance to grab a win against a beaten up traveling Falcons outfit .  As I’ve picked the Dolphins as my AFC EAST Division winners (over the Patriots – GULP) I will be rooting for them this week like a lifer during a conjugal visit.  I’m also going to predict a big game from Colin Kaepernick and the 49ers, who will be smarting after their big loss to the Seahawks last week.  They take on the Colts, who will be slotting in Richardson at running back, their brand new acquisition from the Browns mid week.  Which brings me to the bet – I mentioned last week that the Browns are going to struggle this year after giving up Richardson (they’re rebuilding…) and I think it will be a low scorer against the Vikings.  The over/under line is 40.5 so its unders there.  For some value, let’s throw in the Saints -6.5 (at home to the Cardinals) and Kaep to throw for more than 250.5  yards against the Colts – $50 @ $6.32 to return $316.

So, something for everyone – those of us blessed with testicles able to chase the almost 6-1 return, while the rest of you can join Gargy backing a $1.45 pop, which is slightly worse than the annualised return on a Greek government bond.

You may have noticed The Pelican Punters multi results popping up on the right hand side of the site.  In case we haven’t explained this to date, Gargy, our silent partner, the Maggot, and I, will have a combined $60 on a 3 leg multi each week, with each of us selecting a leg.  This week is $60 on a multi of the Bills +7.5 (Gargy) / Seahawks -13.5 (The Maggot) / Vikings (Shirt) @ $2.55 to return $152.   We’re two from two so far and are having a pretty good year thus far.  This is a great way for budding punters to start up a club of their own without spending too much of their hard earned – it’s also fantastic fun abusing your fellow club members when their leg costs you victory.

By gargyandshirt Posted in NFL

One comment on “NFL Week 3 – Best Bets

Leave a Reply

