Shirty’s Weekly Winners – Week 10

Well, Gargamel has finally returned from his mysterious juice cleanse getaway (the less said about where the juice goes, the better) and has posted a few bets for our loyal followers.  I’ve got to say, but for the weird innuendo regarding Michael Vick, I like the song he is singing.  There are lots of reasons that the Jets SHOULD lift this week – coach and QB under pressure to keep their jobs (although who they go to after Vick is anyone’s guess), a notoriously fickle fan base that may just give up all together and defect en masse to the Toronto Argonauts if they don’t see some improvement, a Steelers D that is looking pretty banged up, and a home field advantage.  But then again, they are the Jets, so the Steelers -4 seems a reasonable bet.  Unfortunately, Gargy didn’t tell us how much he was having on the Steelers, or on the Titans with their +10, but I do like that he has adopted Zack Mettenberger as his own and thinks he can get the job done.

Me, I am a simpler man.  If I’d been more efficient, I would have written this a couple of days ago when I was telling anyone who would listen that Andy Dalton was on a downward trajectory and to get on the Browns.  What I didn’t predict was that he would reach terminal velocity in Thursday Night’s game and turn in one of the all time worst QB performances of the modern era.  Now, I feel for Andy – he is a fellow Ginger who has had to overcome that stigma to succeed as a professional sportsman, but man did he ever give the Fanta Pants Brigade a bad name on Thursday night.  Horrible.  Bengals are a no bet for the rest of the year, in case there was any doubt. For those who didn’t see the game, check out the ~2 minutes of QB Incompletion Ballet thanks to the folks at SB Nation here.  It is mesmerizing in its awfulness.

My bets for this week then;

I really like the way the Saints looked against the Packers two weeks ago, and whilst they were serviceable if not devastating against the Panthers last week, bear in mind that this was the first road game they’d managed to win all year.  They now kick off a 3 game home stretch against a struggling 9ers team that is playing on the proverbial one leg.  Jimmy Graham is going to have a field day and the Saints win.  They are $1.38 for the win.

The Packers also look like locks at home to the Bears.  I know Gargy has a theory that you try and avoid Division games, but then he has gone and taken Denver at $1.17 so he can shove it.  The Bears have been struggling and I think Rogers will take them apart after having a week to rest up.  $1.31 for the win there.

The Cardinals are at home to the Rams, and whilst the Rams beat the 49ers last week, I could make a really good case that the 49ers beat themselves.  So I am really throwing the division rivalry no bet theory to the dogs and will be rolling in the Cardinals to win at $1.34.

Those three together for $100 will get us a return of $234.  That’ll do nicely.

I think the Jags have a great chance to notch up a win in London against the struggling Cowboys, their home away from home, and the punters agree with me – the money has come at the line, with the +7.5 into $1.79.  Personally, I am not going to jump on as I have missed the boat, but if you like them, I would not discourage you.  I also think the resurgent Dolphins are a big chance in Detroit.

PELICAN PUNTING GOES EARBORNE

Finally, as Gargy mentioned, we have indeed completed our first ever Pelican Punting Podcast (PPP1 for those who like an acronym).  It’ll be up just as soon as I work out how to edit it, turn it into an MP3, and post it somewhere accessible to our dear readers.

In the meantime, here is a clip of animals doing shit that humans do;

Shirt.

One comment on “Shirty’s Weekly Winners – Week 10

  1. Fanta Pants Brigade always makes me laugh. Ok so ill take a week off of sledging the Jets (nice pick $hirts), but hey, i have the rest of Nov and all of Dec to fill in, so i dont want to run out of material.

Leave a Reply

